SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    New iPhone Bricked After One Week?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New iPhone Bricked After One Week? Login/Join 
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted
I've been using iPhones since 2009 and have always enjoyed how easy they are to use and administer but lately my faith has been shaken a bit.

Bought a new 128GB iPhone 8 for the wife (she had a SE that was starting to get old and balky and she doesn't want the newer bigger phones) and set it up and everything went smoothly as usual until yesterday when she tells me the phone won't make calls anymore and there is a message about a failed cellular update.

I came home and followed the instructions on how to update it and nothing I tried worked:

multiple reboots
network reset
multiple hard reboots
connecting to iMac and doing update via that (was what Apple had advised)
connecting to iMac and doing wipe and restore
connecting to iMac and putting into DFU mode

No matter what I try I get this:

So now I have to go to the Apple Store and deal with them trying to fix or replace this. One week old! Mad Mad Mad

Posts: 33795 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of PowerSurge
posted Hide Post
99 percent of the time that message means there is a problem with your SIM card and/or phone company and not a problem with the actual phone.

———————————————
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. Psalm 14:1

Posts: 3967 | Location: Northeast Georgia | Registered: November 18, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by PowerSurge:
99 percent of the time that message means there is a problem with your SIM card and/or phone company and not a problem with the actual phone.