SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Why do so many folks feel the need to "challenge" a "fast" car?
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why do so many folks feel the need to "challenge" a "fast" car? Login/Join 
Told cops where to go for over 29 years…
Picture of 911Boss
posted
WTF?

So, I've had my 2017 Mustang GT convertible for 2 months now. It is not flashy, no stripes, totally stock. Not even a signature color, just "Magnetic Metallic" (grey).

One thing I have noticed since getting it is that at least 4-5 times a day, some dipshit next to me at a stop light or onramp thinks they need to "beat" me off the line. While I am a relatively sedate driver, I am not one of those ranted about in another thread about buying a nice car and driving well below it's abilities and the speed limit.

Sometimes it is a Camaro, Challenger, Charger, or the like in which case I could understand the "rivalry" of another pony car. More often than not though it is a piece of shit non-descript 4dr sedan about 10 years old. I've even see the same car that "smoked" me off the line pair up with another "basic" car at the next light and be totally sedate, further suggesting it is something about the car it is next to.

Any others with similar "sports" or "performance" cars notice the phenomenon?

And no, I don't get into it. Punching the gas only to hit the brakes for the next light or racing to the end of the onramp only to brake and merge into traffic does little for me.

Now, on an open road I will get into it and drive it like it should be, but when commuting and running errands I drive accordingly.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: 911Boss,

What part of "...Shall not be infringed" don't you understand???

Posts: 10919 | Location: Western WA state for just a few more years... | Registered: February 17, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Saluki
posted Hide Post