SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Shipping rates in general (UPS IN PARTICULAR)
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Shipping rates in general (UPS IN PARTICULAR) Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by henryaz:
quote:
Originally posted by Ox190:
Don't blame the shipping companies, blame the seller. They are trying to make money off of shipping at that rate.

This is true to a certain extent, and always has been. But the common carriers (UPS and FedEx) made a big change in policy last year. Now, all packages (used to be only those over 3 cu. ft.) ship using dimension weight. The size of the box determines the weight, not the actual weight (unless it happens to be more than the dim weight). I recently shipped an air rifle to WV, inside a cheap Plano hard case and that inside a box. It weighed 18 pounds, but it shipped as 43 pounds, because of the size of the box.

I'm well aware, I work in the industry, you'd be shocked at how some sellers mark up shipping.

Posts: 1181 | Location: DFW Metromess | Registered: May 20, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of henryaz
posted Hide Post
quote:
I'm well aware, I work in the industry, you'd be shocked at how some sellers mark up shipping.

I am shocked, and always have been (even before dim weight weighed in). I generally have a pretty good idea how much it *should* cost to ship something. And I have always tended to avoid those sellers whenever possible.

Posts: 10785 | Location: South Congress AZ | Registered: May 27, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Hop head
Picture of lyman
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by braillediver:
quote:
Originally posted by V-Tail:
quote:
Originally posted by lyman:
what kills it for me is handling charges for basically nothing
I used to think the same way.