SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Why are ICU nurses such a pain to work with
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why are ICU nurses such a pain to work with Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by striperkid:
I'm going through this now with my Mom. Only difference is I have NO medical experience so I'm behind the eight ball.

You might not have any medical experience, but you've known your mom your whole life! If something seems off, or different, or outright wrong, speak up!! Even if you can't "put your finger on it," tell the staff of your concerns. If they don't allay your concerns, politely escalate the case. Many hospitals have different set ups, but ask for a charge nurse, an assistant nurse manager (ANM), the nurse manager, or the house supervisor. Many hospitals also ha a "rapid response team " to assess a sudden change in a patient's condition. Some even have the patient or family to activate the RRT themselves! Also, don't forget to involve the doctor in your concerns.

Posts: 214 | Registered: December 29, 2016Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of ATT
posted Hide Post
First, let me say how sorry I am for your mom and you for having to go through that MCF.

Many years ago our daughter was in a car wreck where she got hit head on by a drunk driver. She was in emergency room and was slowly dying of lack of oxygen, and internal bleeding. Her "doctor" was doing NOTHING. Fortunately for us, the ER head nurse called in another doctor who checked, then he and the nurse came to see us in the waiting room. Essentially, they asked for our permission to treat our daughter. We agreed and they jumped in and saved her life.

Turns out the first "doctor" was from one of those middle eastern countries and was up on charges from a previous MCF in which the patient had died.