SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    App development & end users
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

App development & end users Login/Join 
Alea iacta est
posted
First - let me start this by saying I'm not directing this at anyone in particular, and especially not anyone here. For those of you that have bought my app, thank you. For those of you who haven't, this is NOT directed at you!

Now.. As some of you may know, I've been working on developing an Android app for several months now. I've put in literally hundreds of hours behind the keyboard to make a really quality product, and I've been adding feature after feature, at the request of users. It's been fun, educational, frustrating, and maddening, all at the same time.

For whatever reason, today, as I sit down to work on it again, I find myself a bit demotivated. It's been on the market for coming up on 3 months, and has fewer than 100 downloads.

Trying to make a product that makes everyone happy is very frustrating, especially when you know that most of them won't go buy it anyway. "$7 is too expensive!" Well, Google takes $2.10 of that, and I have literally worked almost every weekend, 12-14 hours per day, for the past 3 months trying to make them all happy - not to mention spending countless hours during the evening during the week. Without exaggerating, I have probably 400 hours into this app, and there are over 15,000 lines of code. For my troubles, I get $4.89 for each purchase. I'm sorry I don't want to give my efforts away for free.

If the app doesn't meet their needs, or they're too tight in the wallet to buy it, why can't they just keep their mouths shut and move along? Why must they be dickheads about it?