SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Oh, tire place wrenchmonkeys - how do I hate thee!
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Oh, tire place wrenchmonkeys - how do I hate thee! Login/Join 
posted
Let me count the ways...

1) Not balancing any of the five new tires I purchased to have mounted and (supposedly) balanced.

2)Cross-threading every... single... lug nut.

3)Torquing every... single... lug nut so far beyond the 145 ft/lb. specification that my electric impact wrench couldn't loosen them and I had to use a breaker bar with cheater and all my 250 lbs. to get them to come off.

4)Having to use a tap to clean the threads on all 32 lug nuts; and a die for 12 of the studs.

My family and I have been using the same local tire place for over 35 years. It's a filthy, unkept shop but Dad used it when we first moved here because most of the locals recommended it and, more from tradition than any other reason, we've been getting our tires there ever since. Until I went to a relatively newer shop in town, I had little idea what a crap shop our usual place is.

The new shop has been around for a few years but is neat, clean, and organized. They balance tires properly - spin, add/change weight, spin again, verify, make changes as necessary - whereas the old shop just does a one-and-done. I'm kicking myself for taking so long to make a change for the better but it's a combination of laziness and loyalty to blame. I don't like change and will usually stay with a place until they do me wrong or it's obvious that my business is not desired. Lesson learned, though, and I'll be more cynical and critical in the future.

Posts: 4981 | Location: Arkansas | Registered: September 04, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Raptorman
Picture of Mars_Attacks
posted Hide Post
Chasing the threads is a HUGE no no on lugs.

Have all the studs and lugs replaced.

Eeewwww, don't touch it!
Here, poke at it with this stick.