SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Things that make you say "Dang, I'm old".
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Things that make you say "Dang, I'm old". Login/Join 
Three Generations
of Service
Picture of PHPaul
posted
On a motorcycle board I hang out on, a guy was doing some home-brew research on problems associated with modern digital electronics on older bikes with pre-digital electrical systems/alternators/regulators, the main problem being voltage spikes killing sensitive digital stuff.

So anyway, he posted some pictures of his methodology. For the non-techie types, an oscilloscope is an electronic device that lets you "see" electricity and capture snapshots of very short duration events like, say...well...voltage spikes.

In the early 70's, when I was a bench tech, this was a pretty standard o-scope. Tektronix 535, weighed around 50 pounds, came with it's own little cart to roll it around on.

This is what he was using.

Jesus, I'm old...

Be careful when following the masses. Sometimes the M is silent.

Posts: 15180 | Location: Downeast Maine | Registered: March 10, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
And worse yet, all those books on the shelves behind the Tektronix will likely fit in a cellphone’s local memory!

Posts: 1169 | Location: NE Indiana  | Registered: January 20, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Three Generations
of Service
Picture of PHPaul
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by tsmccull:
And worse yet, all those books on the shelves behind the Tektronix will likely fit in a cellphone’s local memory!

And be keyword searchable instead of leafing through 40 pounds of paper trying to find what you're looking for!

Posts: 15180 | Location: Downeast Maine | Registered: March 10, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post