SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    On the long list of things that aggravate this cranky old man
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

On the long list of things that aggravate this cranky old man Login/Join 
Cogito Ergo Sum
posted Hide Post
12 years ago I decided I was going to buy an Electra Glide. Went to the dealership and brought my son and daughter with me. We were the only people there. The two salesmen were more interested in chatting with each other near the clothing department. I stood by one of the bikes for what seemed like an eternity and no response. Now if I am a motorcycle salesman and I saw a middle aged man with two children walk in what does that tell me? Cha Ching! Maybe I wasn't dressed appropriately. No leather vest, goatees, and pony tails like the salesman. After I time I left.

My wife called me and asked to see the bike. I told her what happened and she said their loss. Two days later one of the owners of the dealership goes to see my wife at the bank on unrelated business. My wife relays my experience to her and she calls me to go back to the dealership and I would be taken care of. Thanks but no thanks. What I experienced is probably reflective of the whole place and that includes the service department.

Posts: 5691 | Registered: August 01, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Harley's brilliance ends at the drawing board, I guess. When the XLX-61 Sportster came out in 1983, black handlebars and exhaust, no pillion, I went to every dealership in the Chicago area with cash in my pocket.

I guess you could say the sales people were polite, but nobody had one, and nobody was interested in finding one for me. No Harley for me, I bought a Gold Wing some years later.

--------------------------
Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.
-- H L Mencken

I always prefer reality when I can figure out what it is.