SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Armorer    Double Action Over Travel and Trigger Bar Troubles
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Double Action Over Travel and Trigger Bar Troubles Login/Join 
posted
I'm new to the Sig world and recently acquired a nice old P226 to learn on. One of the first things I noticed was how much over travel there is in the double action trigger pull. I realize that most people don't care. Most people will never even take a double action shot and those that will don't really understand that all that over travel is what causes them to jerk their shots way off target. I hate having that much over travel, personally. It just feels sloppy to me and there's no good reason for it.

I suspected that I could take some material off of the end of the trigger bar, where it engages the hammer pivot pin, and get a much better double action pull. So I started slowly removing material with some sand paper, trying to preserve the arc of the bar where it engages. After a while and a few .002" at a time I had a very nice double action pull. The hammer came a lot farther back before the break and my trigger got closer and closer to the frame. It was great until I tried the single action pull.

Now when I pull the trigger in single action mode it catches on the trigger bar when it tries to break. Or, I should say, sometimes it catches and sometimes it don't. I didn't see that coming. I need to find out how much material I can remove before that happens and that means, for me, that I need a cheap source for trigger bars.